A Personal Look at Women in Horror Month

scaredsheepless

For horror fans February is far less about sickly sweet Valentine’s Day and more about Women in Horror Month, a time for a celebration of women involved in both the creative and business elements of horror.  Like any movement it has passionate supporters and detractors, but for me, I’ve always fallen into apathy.  I’ve never hated the movement, nor particularly loved it and while there have been certain elements that have annoyed me (like the seemingly indiscriminate handing out of the title Scream Queen) I’ve retained a mostly neutral stance on the matter.  Despite considering myself a feminist I’ve never incorporated my horror experiences into this, often pretty much considering myself genderless while watching, only really making the connection when presented with outwardly misogynistic texts or behaviour.  It wasn’t until Nia’s fantastic article for Brutal as Hell (link here) about the month and a tweet I read afterwards that…

View original post 844 more words

Leave a Reply

